Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Digital back for Linhof Master Technika/advice sought

Digital back for Linhof Master Technika/advice sought

I have a Master Technika 2000. To do travel photography I have used 4x5 Linhofs in the field. Never in the studio, and never with flash.
    I would like to switch to digital. Ideally, I would like a full frame back, that I can use with the 6 or so Linhof lenses I already have.
    Can anyone make some recommendations ?

Thanks in advance

Rafael

Happy Holidays !

Re: Digital back for Linhof Master Technika/advice sought

First, a full format back would be a scanning back like a Betterlight or an Anagramm.
    Most people use a live capture back like a Phaseone.
    Putting digital live capture backs on a Linhof Technika from the IV to the Master and the 2000 and 3000 is very easy. You can use the 001693 Linhof DigiAdapter to put any Hasselblad V compatible digital back on the camera. Or you can use the new Linhof sliding and shift back on any IV, V, old Master or 3000 cameras directly. For later Master Technika and the 2000 cameras a small modification to the camera is necessary. This adapter takes adapters that accept Hasselblad V, Hasselblad H, Contax 645 or Mamiya 645 Af digital backs.
    Lastly your lenses were designed for film, not digital. For the optimal results from a digital back you would need digital lenses. FotoCare Ltd. in NYC can guide you with the adaptation to digital.

I am considering a move to digital equipment also. Currently, I use a TK 45 with new Rodenstock "Film" lenses. I would like to keep my TK 45. Believe it or not I work fairly quickly with the camera.

Where should I begin? I can't afford to replace 5 lenses and purchase a digital back.