Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anything out there close to Cibachrome?

Anything out there close to Cibachrome?

I've been printing digitally, mostly Lightjet, since I started shooting LF about 4 years ago. But everytime I go into galleries with Cibachromes, I come out wishing I could acheive that look digitally. All but 1 or 2 labs worldwide have done away with digital Ciba's printed on LJ's and Lambdas....etc, and then ones left are pretty darn expensive. I've used FujiFlex, and its ok, but has a much lower gamut than most digital papers, and still doesn't have the depth I'm looking for. I found threads about Pictorico hi-gloss white film on inkjets, and had a friend test it, and I guess it falls way short when trying to achieve that Ciba look. Has anyone out there found anything that they would say comes close? I know the Harman papers are well liked, but they don't have a Ciba look them either. I read a thread once that suggested printing on a trans film, and then mounting it to a paper and I was thinking of Kodak Metallic. Does anyone think this might work to achieve the metallicy high saturation, but still get the depth that Ciba's had?

Adam Kavalunas
    www.plateauvisions.com

Re: Anything out there close to Cibachrome?

If you want Ciba/Ilfochrome, why not just shoot trannies (and make your own prints)?
    Wilhelm (Sarasota)

I do shoot transparency film, mostly Astia these days. I'm not really looking to get into doing my own printing. With the cost of setting up everything and getting all the raw materials, it just isn't feasable right now, especially since I woud have no room for it. I print up to 40x50, so making my own prints that big is something I'm just not looking to do.

Drew Wiley

I'd forget about inkjet. Fuji high gloss can indeed resemble a Ciba if properly done.
    The gamut will actually be more accurate, but you will never be able to get as much
    micro-detail as printing directly from a large format negative onto this material. This