Thread: Computer recommendations please?

Computer recommendations please?

Having posted a question about the amount of memory needed for 300MB to 800MB sizes scans, I realise that my computer is restricted to 3GB RAM usage with my current 32 bit operating system.
    So planning ahead, could anyone advise me of the options please?
    I have a Dell Optiplex 745, bought towards the end of 2007.
    It has an Intel 2 CPU @ 2.13GHZ, a single 148GB hard drive, and Windows XP Professional, 2002 version, SP3. That's all I know (I'm not technical!).
    I use an Eizo FlexScan S2111W screen (two or three years old, and we are happy with this). My wife uses a Wacom Intuos tablet with this computer - the tablet is great.
    This computer is based at home, and is not on a network. The only programs that we run on it are Office (Word and Excel), Photoshop and Bridge CS4, Corel Painter 11, Nikon Transfer, and a few bits and pieces, and internet access. Anti virus is Avast. There is zero gaming use, and occasional DVD watching.
    Use over the next couple of years will be similar I think. I may be tempted to try an 8x10 (!), so there could be bigger scans, but not sure at this stage.
    Do I stick with the Optiplex 745, and change the operating system (to what – Windows 7?), and maybe add some additional parts?
    Or should I really be budgeting for a new system (which would likely be in March next year), and if so what?
    The budget is not massive! I’m in the UK and if necessary could go to £750. Any more than this and I'm edging out of my comfort zone.
    Tweaking the existing machine would be preferable, unless it's clear that a new machine is by far the best option.
    Any advice on the way to go? Thanks.

Re: Computer recommendations please?

To get more than 3 gb, you need to go to a 64 bit operating system, probably Vista 64 or Windows 7 64. I don't know about your motherboard, and how expandable it is. How much memory can it hold?