Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Triggering 2 studio flashes - cable?

Triggering 2 studio flashes - cable?

Hello,

up to now I had only one studio flash, so I usually triggered it jut via PC-sync cable. Now I consider getting one more - I wonder whether one can buy some kind if "Y" adapter such that I can keep using the single PC-sync on my cameras (from DSLR to 4x5). I know that there are wireless trigger systems, but even the cheaper ones run close to 200 euro for this setup - also - I have no experience with the wireless things.

Cables make the shooting a bit more fussy, but fixing a wireless trigger to Tachi 4x5 or Rolleiflex TLR will not be nice either, just cost more.

I will get flash from the same producer, just with a bit lower power (300Ws versus 500Ws which I already have). Yes - it is a low end flash (www.venditus.de) but works OK for me.

In other words - I need to trigger 2 studio flashes cheaply ...
    Matus

Re: Triggering 2 studio flashes - cable?

You can get cables made to trigger two flashes and in the USA paramount is one of the main flash cable providers. They can trigger directly or via a pocket wizard or other RF trigger.

http://www.paramountcords.com/Ycords.asp
    Wally Brooks

Everything is Analog!
    Any Fool Can Shoot Digital!
    Any Coward can shoot a zoom! Use primes and get closer.

Just use a slave. Many flash units have one built in to the head or the pack. Any camera store will have slave units also. Kaiser in Buchen make them and they should be easy to find in Germany.

thanks, the slave sounds like the best solution. But how does that actually work? Should there be one more connection for a cable that can be used to connect two flashes together?

For the completeness I include a view of the flash controls. There is not second plug, but the flashes are equipped with a photo cell (not visible in the photo) so they can be trigger by the flashlight itself - I am only wondering whether that will be fast enough ...