Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: about 4x5 color slide film develop (jobo cpe,cpa,cpp,atl)

about 4x5 color slide film develop (jobo cpe,cpa,cpp,atl)

Hello,
    im really new in these color slide develop process. I usually shoot 35mm and just starting to shoot with largeformat b&W films because my father who was a photographer just passed away a couple years ago and left all the LF cameras and a lot of 4x5 slide, 5x7 B&W films behind. Since i am also really into photography and art, and just didnt want to through those films out, i thought i should give a try in LF too.
    I just found out that its a bit expensive(for my situation) to develop large format films. It cost like $3-5 per sheet film to develop. is there anyway i can develop color slides in my bathroom? i live in a apartment with a small bathroom, so i dont have a dark room, and i dont think i will have one in 10 years or so.
    How much are those Jobo cpe, cpa, cpp, atl series? i have been searching and i cannot find any price on them. are those model discontinued? If i get one of those processors...can i use it in my bathroom?

i am really sorry for asking questions that i should knew already....

thanks

Re: about 4x5 color slide film develop (jobo cpe,cpa,cpp,atl)

I use a Jobo CPP2 with a Lift and the 2509 reels, which I find very good for 4x5 E6 processing. It's bigger, but has more slots and a larger water jacket and try to hold more bottles of chemistry than the smaller version. (This is quite useful as E6 has 7 chemistry steps + a 4-exchange temperature and time critical wash step after the first developer.) It be awkward to bend over without some kind of stand, but it'd definitely fit inside a standard bathtub.

http://www.spiritsofsilver.com tgtaylor's Avatar

Jobo stopped manufacturing back in 2004 or 2005. However used machines come up frequently on Ebay.