Thread: using Jobo tank for filmdevelopment

using Jobo tank for filmdevelopment

I've thinking a lot about how I am going to process 4 x 5 sheet film. Developing film in the complete dark isn't something that attracts me, mainly be cause I am 100% convinced not beeing able to produce negs that show a somewhat u niform development. I am a beginner of course, but I trust myself much more usin g a daylight method. I've a Jobo CPE processor, and I am thinking about buying a Jobo tank + reel for developing 6 sheets. Finding second hand is difficult with Jobo equipment, specially tanks for sheetfilm, at least here in the Netherlands . Because the Jobo stuff is so teribly expensive I've some questions; a) is it s ufficient to buy the tank and reel only, or must I buy the additional guiding a ccessory plus 4x5 template according to their brochure. Is it possible to skip t hese items because it costs another $150. b) In the Jobo brochure; under the characteristics of the tank it is stated 6/27 0 ml; does this mean you only need 270 ml for 6 sheets? c) Are there other daylight products wich are less expensive? d) what are the experiencies using Jobo tank sheet development in combination wi th the CPE machine?

I have both the six sheet system you are interested in and the Expert drum 3010. Both work well but if you can afford it and if it will work on your processor the Expert drum is the best way to go. It loads very easily and can process ten sheets at a time. The other system reel is dificult to load without the guide but probably can be done with some practice. I use that system with regular handheld agitation methods with good results also. The amount of chemistry is the minimal amount but I would use at least twice that to ensure good even development.