Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: choosing a large format camera

choosing a large format camera

Hello,

I'm very new to the large format world so having a difficult time deciding which camera to buy. I want to travel with my camera so I need something fairly light. I'll be shooting landscape and portraiture. I'm debating between the Toho FC-45X because of it's light weight and range of mobility or a wooden field camera.

Any thoughts on what would be a better choice? Or any other camera that someone could recommend for my particular needs?

Thank you so much for the help,

chloe

Re: choosing a large format camera

Chloe,

Welcome to LF! I'm assuming you mean the 4x5 format.

I'm partial to conventionally designed and constructed cameras, so something like the Ebony RW45 or SV45Ti (in mahogany) are appealing, or a used later model Picker-built Zone VI (although not particularly light for a field camera).

Portraiture is a bit at odds with a lightweight traveling camera because large lens boards and a longer bellows draw can be advantageous with larger, faster lenses preferred for portraiture, but add weight and bulk, sometimes a lot.

You might also look at the Canham DLC-45.

http://www.largeformatphotography.in...canhamdlc.html

If you're not intending to both at the same time, you could easily justify and afford a field camera and a dedicated portraiture camera such as a older Cambo or Calumet, which can be had for a couple of hundred dollars and has large lensboards. Or for a little more money, a Sinar F1, F2, or Norma with the Sinar shutter.

Now if you aren't restricting yourself to traveling with your portraiture camera, an 8x10 camera such as a Kodak 2D with an installed Packard shutter is cheap, light for an 8x10, and opens up a lot of opportunities for portraiture that isn't easily achieved with 4x5. Search on the forum for Jim Galli and visit his website. Jim used a Kodak 2D and a Packard for many of his "traveling" portraiture shots.