Thread: Think this would be a good starter lens?

Think this would be a good starter lens?

135 F5.6 CALTAR II-S MC COPAL BULB, TIME (4X5)(34 MOUNT), LARGE FORMAT VIEW LENS

Also, am I correct in assuming that all I would need to have to use this with my camera is a 34 mount lens board? The camera I will be getting is a Cambo SC.

Thanks a lot!

Octogenarian

Re: Think this would be a good starter lens?

Excellent choice for a starter lens. 135mm is considered to be a "short normal" focal length.

The Caltar II-S is actually a Schneider Symmar that has been re-badged by Calumet.

It is mounted in a Copal 0 shutter.

That would be fine, as would the Caltar II-N 135mm above it, at $310.

Excellent, thanks!

Forgive me though for the newbie questions, but is there a specific lensboard for Copal 0 shutters? I am not new to photography, having shot both film and digital for a long time now, but I am VERY new to the world of LF.

Octogenarian

You will need a lens board that is specifically made to fit your Cambo SC camera.

These boards have various sized openings that fit the type of shutter in which the lens is mounted.

For example: Lenses mounted in---

Copal 0 shutters need a 34-35 mm opening.

Copal 1 shutters need a 45-46mm opening.

Copal 3 shutters need a 65-66mm opening.

BT, this would be a great lens too.
    http://www.largeformatphotography.in...ad.php?t=49130

There are three general considerations when selecting a lens board:

1) Camera type: There is some standardization in the industry but it is certainly not the rule. You will hear of Sinar-type, and Linhof-type boards. I'm not famliar with the Cambo SC but I suspect that there are Cambo-specific boards for your camera.