Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Using a Center Filter

Question Using a Center Filter

Is using a center filter any different than using any other filter? I will soon have a Schneider SS-XL 150mm and the center filter for it. I have never used a center filter before.

Re: Using a Center Filter

Yes, a center filter will not work unless the lens is stopped down at least 2 stops.

Bob, I've not heard this. The radial light falloff is a function of aperture at least in the case of the 150 SS-XL and at large apertures? Does this mean these Schneider center filters are designed to function best at certain apertures? Interesting; or are we splitting hairs.

Nate Potter, Austin TX.

Quote Originally Posted by Nathan Potter View Post
    Bob, I've not heard this. The radial light falloff is a function of aperture at least in the case of the 150 SS-XL and at large apertures? Does this mean these Schneider center filters are designed to function best at certain apertures? Interesting; or are we splitting hairs.

Nate Potter, Austin TX.
    All center filters need the lens to be stopped down at least 2 stops for the lens to "see" the effect of the filter.

See third paragraph of the attached Schneider instruction sheet from a new Schneider center filter.

Quote Originally Posted by Bob Salomon - HP Marketing View Post
    All center filters need the lens to be stopped down at least 2 stops for the lens to "see" the effect of the filter.

See third paragraph of the attached Schneider instruction sheet from a new Schneider center filter.
    Bob, that's a really vague description and doesn't really explain the "why" of why you need to stop down other than to have the "full compensation effect". Do you know if there is a white paper or something similar for this? Here is the third paragraph Bob is pointing to: