Thread: Questions about focus and DOF technique and aperture

Questions about focus and DOF technique and aperture

I have read the resources available on the LF home page about dof and optimal sh arpness techniques and have a question. I am new at this so please correct me i f i'm incorrect. I've learned to always set focus at the largest aperture possi ble ie., 5.6 for brightness reasons. But for example after using procedure 1 an d/or 2 (found on the LF home page) how is the aperture determined to keep dof. Since DOF and sharpness or a priority should the scene be metered relying on exp osure time only. Example if after taking appropriate readings you determine tha t you should expose for 1/30th at f8, but feel that you need more dof and need f 16 you could just adjust the exposure time right? How do you know the best aper ture for DOF, that is the real question.

Thank you very much!

Clark: If you're coming from another format, the basic rules for large format still hold true - you're depth of field increases as your aperture becomes smaller. And yes, you would need to adjust your exposure time if you change your aperture from F8 to F16. Simple examination of the groundglass will show your depth of field increase as you step down, you can also see it change as you apply movements. The "best" aperture for DOF depends on what you want from your chosen DOF. If by best you mean the most, it would be your minimum aperture, but diffraction would have a negative impact on image quality by then, so that's a tradeoff - that subject has been covered lots here. Merklinger has a web site with video clips showing how your DOF changes as you apply movements, and Leslie Strobel's " View Camera Technique" covers same. You may also want to look at any number of resources on basic exposure and camera setting techniques.