Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: portraits

Arrow portraits

hi,my name is andrea canegrati,sorry for any english spelling mystakes from now on...im really new to lf,but i relate better to 35mm photography and techniques and equipment as i ve been involved with it for quite some time..
    can i take a head and shoulder portrait with a 121 mm lens on my 5x4 camera without having distortions because im too close?
    here will follow some more info and considerations:
    question:i d like to produce a portrait,something like a typical head and shoulder,or just slightly wider than that.the aim is to take advantage of the great 5x4 sheet resolution(compared to 35mm im coming from),so to record the all of the minute shadows and detail of a face tonal range...i know how to achieve that through lighting etc...the problem is the lens size and my camera system...
    ok,i will explain.in a 35mm format i d use a 105 to 135mm lens,to ensure i can frame the image 'head and shoulder'...and also to ensure that i can frame the subjet from a good few meters away.any cl;oser i may incurr into face distortions(like nose too big,proportions wrong,etc..)..ok!!i ve got a 121mm lens large format and may borrow a 240mm lens.my camera is a field camera,it cannot extend the bellow for more than 300mm(unless i may add bellolws,which i dont know how and most importantly,i don t think the camera system,a wooden shen hao,foldable,is designed to be extended of more than 300mm..)the 300mm bellow(if that is the limit max and i cannot extend any longer)will set me down to a max lens of 240mm(so i can extend the bellow to 300mm and focus closer than infinity..)..so!!!APPARENTLY A 121MM LF LENS IS EQUAL TO 30mm on 35mm format.a 240mm large format(lf) is equal to what?70mm,lets assume...