Thread: Omega D2 with point source DM lamp housing

Omega D2 with point source DM lamp housing

I just bought a D2. It has DM Micro film head. This is a variable intensity poin t source light. My question is; what kind of results will this yield. What is a point source light and how does it differ from the regular condenser? Any infor mation would be helpful. Thanks Mark

The sun is a point source. A point source enlarger produces very contrasty light that old timers thought of as very sharp. A comparison of point, condenser and diffused enlargers setups by David Vestal concluded that high quality prints could be made with each system, provided negative development and paper choices were tailored to the specific light source. The point source problem, and to a lesser extent condenser problem, is that in addition to producing sharp images of silver grains, they also produce sharp images of fibers, dust, and scratches. I have no experience with a microfilm head, but since such images are theoretically quite small, I would be concerned about coverage of the negatives. If coverage isn't adequate for your negs, it might be best to look for a used head.