Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Albuquerque, Gallup & Sante Fe this weekend

Albuquerque, Gallup & Sante Fe this weekend

Last minute, limited time trip to the Albuquerque, Sante Fe and Gallup vicinitie s. Any advice on where I should concentrate to get the most out of my time and not be wandering aimlessly! What should I leave until I have more time and what should I look for and spend time shooting this coming weekend?

Thanks,

John Bailey

Hi. I'm an Albuquerque resident and amateur LF photograper. I don't do much landscape, but I know this area real well (been here since '75). One thing to keep in mind is that it's real hot and dry here now. There are a lot of things I could point you toward but kind of need a better sense of what you're after. Why don't you send me an email? I'll respond and not put everybody else to sleep. -jeff buckels

One piece of worthwhile advise. Don't try to "sneak" a picture of the native Americans. In Santa Fe they will turn away before you can click the shutter, and in Gallop you may find yourself accidentally knocked into the street with your broken camera. Respect their dignity, and ask first.

A couple of years ago I found some nice architectural details to photograph in Santa Fe, in and around the Plaza, early before the crowds. Nuthin' much in Albuquerque, but I probably just didn't know where to look.

Chaco canyon, northeast of Gallup is a great place to get good photos. It should be on your map.

With apologies to Jeff, I didn't find Albuquerque to be a very interesting city from a photographic standpoint in the few days I spent there. Perhaps I just didn't know the places to go, and living there Jeff undoubtedly knows a lot more than I do, but FWIW (and subject to what Jeff or someone else better informed than I am might tell you) I'd skip Albuquerque and concentrate on the other two.
    Brian Ellis
    Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you do criticize them you'll be