Thread: Another Zonie

Smile Another Zonie

Hello. My name is Jess and I just became a member yesterday. Although I am new to this forum I am not new to photography. I have been teaching photo for 30 years at the high school level and did 13 years as a part-time instructor at the Jr. College level.

I am a native of Arizona (a rarity it seems anymore what with all of the transplants) and have been involved in photography for over 30 years. I seriously started Large Format back in 1985 when I picked up my first brand new 4x5 Cherry Wood Wista DX and went off to attend a "Friends of Photography" workshop the following year. I still have it including a Wista 45 SP metal field which is my go to 4x5. My film of choice is (was?) T-Max 100 in Ready-Load packs but as I understand Kodak has ceased production. So I guess I will be going back to sheet film in the near future. Luckily, I still have a small supply of Ready-Loads handy.

My subject of choice is the landscape and Arizona offers quite a diversity in this area. I currently use a Beseler 45MX and MXT for enlarging each equipped with a "new" to me Oriental VC-CLS cold light head and a Zone VI cold light hooked up to a Zone VI cold light stabliizer. I have recently gone back to Oriental's Seagull variable contrast paper in the glossy surface. Graded Oriental was my choice for years and then they disappeared for a while. However, this VC paper works really nice for me and I really like the look of the paper with my negatives. Ilford and Agfa are my other favorites.

I look forward to contributing when I can and learning more as I go. Thanks.

Jess

Stuck inside of Tucson with the Neverland Blues again...

Re: Another Zonie

Welcome, Jess! I'm down the road from you a bit (in Tucson). I also teach high school photo classes, and the occassional community college class. I'm guessing that with the new state standards, your program is going mostly digital? A sign of the times...