Thread: Digital negatives for contact printing question

Cool Digital negatives for contact printing question

I have a favorit scene I have been working on for several years - it is about 100miles
    from here, so it is rare that the clouds, light etc are just right. I have a couple of 8x10 and 4x5 shots that are good, but they have some powerlines ruining the shot(dumb beginner mistakes).
    Now the old buildings are being torn down, destroying the scene.
    It occurs to me that photoshoping the powerlines out would be the way to salvage the scene, but I have not seen decent b/w prints that rival wet process (IMHO, anyway), so digital printing does not seem like an option.

Any experience with making a drum scan and then a digital negative for either enlarging or contact printing? There is a guy nearby who will do a drum scan of 8x10 or 4x5 reasonably, and I have a 10x10 enlarger.

Re: Digital negatives for contact printing question

Herb,

I can't help you, but Sandy King (and others) make digital negatives to print using alternative (wet) processes. Try a search both here and on APUG. I think you will find the answers to your question.

Good Luck

There is lots of discussion of digital negatives on hybridphoto.com

As David suggests there is a lot of discussion of making digital negatives for various processes on the hybrid site. What the OP wants to do can definitely be done but there is something of a learning curve involved both in the use of Photoshop and in the choice of method used to make a digital negative. For contact printing on silver papers a viable path is to print with the Epson 3800 on Pictorico controlling the ink with QTR. I know for a fact that one can make very nice digital negatives with this combination. In addition to the hybrid site have a look at Ron Reeder's site for more information on using QTR to make digital negatives. http://www.ronreeder.com/

Sandy King

Quote Originally Posted by David A. Goldfarb View Post