Thread: Is a Vivitar 283 or 285 OK for this?

Is a Vivitar 283 or 285 OK for this?

I want to try using flash occasionally with a 4x5 (Ebony) and possibly with a Mamiya 7 also, and I've never used flash before.
    Was thinking about a used Vivitar 283 or 285 - will this work alright? Is one better than the other?
    I will start with a few still-life close-ups, and see where I go from there.
    So:
    Do I need to get anything extra to use in manual mode? At the moment I use a Pentax Spot so presumably I'm going to need something else to meter the flash with?
    Will the voltage be OK with the Mamiya 7?
    The last question is having read that the 283/285 can fry the circuits in some cameras - can well do without this happening to the Mamiya!
    Thanks for any advice on this.

Re: Is a Vivitar 283 or 285 OK for this?

I don't know exactly what the output of the 283/285 is, but you might run into issues with power. With a 500 w/s Novatron pack about all I could got to is f16, with a 2000 w/s pack I was able to hit f32 (both at ISO 100, these are both using umbrellas, direct would have been more powerful). My point here is that both of these setups have a lot more power than either of the vivitars, so depending on your subject matter you may not be able to get enough DOF. Faster film will help of course.

What is your subject matter?

You will need a flash meter. KEH has used ones.

You probably will need more output than what you get from these. If I remember correctly, at three feet my 283 gave me f8. So at 1.5 feet (for a close-up) you could get f16, but if you add diffusion you are back to about f8, which will give tiny depth of field for close-ups on 4x5.

Look for used lighting, such as Speedotron, at least 500 watt-seconds.

El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles de Porciúncula