Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A question about framing photos

A question about framing photos

Many of my customers are asking for wood frames so I am investigating what that means. The nice thing about metal frames is that I can easily recycle them for better selling images. This is harder to do with wood frames.

To address this issue, I am looking at the Fletcher Fleximaster point driver which can be found at http://www.framingsupplies.com/Fletc...ointDriver.htm. It uses a flexible nail to hold the artwork in place. The nail is designed to be bent so that the art work can be easily replaced. Has anyone here used this new tool? Does it really work?

Re: A question about framing photos

Although I don't have any experience with these new flexible framers points, I have extensive experience with the standard framers points and point driver. It is an indispensable tool when doing wood frames. They are very easy, reliable and can be easily removed. I tend to frame a piece for sale and don't remove it from the frame. If I want to swap it out for another it is not a big deal to remove the points. I have a local framing supply wholesaler and will check with him later today. He may have info on this new product.

Just to be different, I use a brad pusher and small brads on my wood frames. The brads are easy to remover with needle-nose pliers.

Brad pusher:
    http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?FamilyID=3659

Vaughn

I bought mine at the local hardware store. -- it also has a magnet inside...allows one to pick up a brad without having to pick one up in one's fingers and drop it down the barrel. A bit of force is needed for hardwood frames, but others are a breeze.

Robert, I look forward to what you can find out about this new tool.

Vaughn, thanks for the alternative suggestion. At this pint everything is on the table.