Thread: Questions about Old 4X5

Questions about Old 4X5

Hi everyone, I am hoping you can tell me what I have.
    My background is with 35mm, having just retired my Nikon system after 30 + yrs. and gone digital.
    My son knew I had a number old cameras collected and got this 4X5 camera and an enlarger from a friend of his.
    So my question to the forum, is it very old , of any use or value.
    I am hoping someone might recognize the name or anything else. I have looked around the forum and did not see anything quite like it.
    It is too large to go with my collection and have not done any darkroom work for years, so what can I do with it.
    Thankyou,
    Martin

Re: Questions about Old 4X5

This is the enlarger and it's lens.

Martin

Jim Ewins

Somehow my reply got lost, you may contact me off forum if you wish.

You can find information about the Burke and James Grover camera by Googling and by searching this forum. Burke and James was a Chicago camera store that is no longer in business, I don't know exactly when they went out of business. They sold products made by other companies under their own name, like Sears does with its Kenwood model. The Grover was a monorail I believe and probably isn't worth much, I'd guess $200 - $300 for the camera alone, assuming it's in good working condition and the bellows has no light leaks. The lens may add some value depending on its condition and brand.
    Brian Ellis
    Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you do criticize them you'll be
    a mile away and you'll have their shoes.

The enlarger is an Omega D2, a very popular 4x5 enlarger. You seem to have the Omega cold light version rather than the much more common condenser version. I have equipped my D2 with a Aristo Cold Light. I have no idea how the performance of the Omega cold light compares to the Aristo.