Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is the Minolta Flashmeter IV /spot suitable for LF

Is the Minolta Flashmeter IV /spot suitable for LF

I am in the process of converting to LF colour landscape and 'fine art' B&W style photography work. I have been using the Minolta Flashmeter IV for many years for my 4x5/8x10 studio work and I am wondering whether the IV combined with the five degree spot attachment (which I also have) will be adequate for accurate metering in the field or should I perhaps look at the 1 degree Minolta spotmeter F or the Pentax digital spot? The IV has a fairly good 'highlight', 'average', 'shadow' reading capability, but would the five degree spot be as useful as a one degree meter when it comes to 'zone system' style technique?

Thanks in advance, Peter Brown

It'll work reasonably well. I'd strongly suggest you give that fairly inexpensiv e spot attachment a good tryout before spending the bucks for a spotmeter. It ma y be perfectly sufficient.

I haven't found the automatic shadow and highlight bias settings of the Minolt a meters to be of much use simply because they're fixed in compensation value. T hey're very good meters otherwise, though; that's why I've accumulated a couple of Flashmeter IVs and a Spot F. I find the best meter for zone system work to be the older-style Pentax Spotmeter V, which has a calculator dial. It's much easi er for me to figure zone placements etc while looking at the dial than looking a t an LCD readout and thinking about it.

Kevin Kolosky

Pete