Thread: 4X5 TMax 400/TMax RC & Brown Stains

4X5 TMax 400/TMax RC & Brown Stains

Hello all....

I would be interested in communicating with anybody using the combination of the new & improved 4X5 TMax 400 & TMax RC developer. I process my film in a Jobo tank & have noticed a light brown stain in the clear part of the film after development. It is on the emulsion side of the sheet & can be scratched off with my fingernail when dry. I have no idea where the stain is coming from & would like to tap into the collective genius of this group.

I called Kodak & talked with the B&W rep there & they have had no other reports of this happening. I have been processing film for over 30 years & have never seen this. Also, this has only happened since I switched to the new & improved TMax 400. (It is not the same problem where a mageta color shows up from insuffient fixing. I still get the light brown stain using fresh Rapid Fix.)

I use a acetic acid stop with the indicator. Could that be a problem?

Has anybody else experienced anything similiar using this combination? Any ideas might be helpful. Thank you in advance.

Rick Tapio

Re: 4X5 TMax 400/TMax RC & Brown Stains

I would suspect one of two things -

Incomplete fixing can result in brown stains. Normally, those stains won't scratch off without damaging the emulsion.

A more likely possibility is a problem with washing. Are you using a PhotoFlo final rinse? And if so, are you mixing it at the recommended strength? And in what kind of water? Have you had your water tested to determine its natural iron content?

PhotoFlo can leave a residue on film, especially when used at the recommended dilution. It's a good idea to always dilute it more than the manufacturer recommends - perhaps by as much as twice the recommended dilution. Keep in mind that the purpose of PhotoFlo is to relax the surface tension of the water so that it will dry without leaving spots, so diluting it more doesn't really hurt.