Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Combi Plan ... better than expected!

Combi Plan ... better than expected!

First of all .. it doesn't leak. I expected it to by all the reports I had read but it doesn't leak a drop. I also discovered that by fitting a much larger funnel to the inlet it gives the developer a little head pressure and it fills faster ... under fifteen seconds in fact. You can also get it to dump much more quickly by having a piece of tube a foot or so long at the ready to slip over the inlet nozzle when you pull the bottom bung off ... blow in the tube to pressurise the tank slightly and it empties a lot faster.

However I am very new to this 4x5 developing thing and I seem to be getting slightly patchy developing of my negs. Particularly noticable when there is a large expanse of clear blue sky ... it seems to be rather uneven! This was when using TRI-X developed in Rodinal at 50+1 for 14 minutes.

Any suggestions ... am I agitating incorrectly or do you think there may be some other reason? I agitate initially for one minute then a couple of inversions each minute from there on!

Re: Combi Plan ... better than expected!

I would use inversion agitation every 30 sec. That should clear up your "patchy" skys.
    5 sec. every 30 sec.

I would allow the developer to fill/empty without assistance until you determine it is not responsible for the patchiness. After thousands of negs run through a combi, I find that agitation is best when it is a gentle end to end (turn on the narrow side) wrist movement with a few seconds in the upside down position to let the fluid subside.

I also suggest you never photo flo/lfn in the tank as over time it seems to alter the flow of water and leave effects on film edges. Kodak discovered that detergent bonds to plastics and forms an unremovable coating.

Of course there is always the guy who pipes in "I've done such-and-such for 20 years and never had that problem [i.e. you must be an idiot]", but ignore him.