Thread: Why are movements so necessary for macro photography?

Why are movements so necessary for macro photography?

Hi,

I'm an intermediate photographer looking to move into the LF world. I do mostly landscape and close-up photography in 35mm and MF. In investigating to determi ne the type of camera I should purchase it seems that cameras that are considere d suitable for architectural photography are also considered to be suitable for close-up or macro photography because of the movements available. Why is this? What benefits to this type of photography are movements? BTW, I'm interested i n LF mostly for the negative size and processing advantages of sheet film.

Thanks for your help, Erin

Right now when you do macro stuff your depth of field is on the same plane as your film back. If your subject has a depth to it you use your aperture to increase the depth of field. The closer you are to the subjet the less depth you'll get with a given aperture. As you probably know f22 doesn't go too far when the subject is inches away from the lens.

Now with LF cameras you can make that depth of field plane "lay down" if you want, by tilting the front standard. Or you can swing the front standard so the depth of field is on an angle. This all by itself will give you more apparent depth of field even with the lens wide open. Front rise lets you peek over the subject a bit, or correct converging parallels.

The focal lengths of LF lenses are much longer (for the same view) than 35 mm lenses yet a 150 mm lens has the same depth of field no matter whether it is a normal lens for 4x5 or a telephoto for 35 mm. Without movements and especially tilt many LF shots would be impossible.

I know that when I started thinking about LF I too thought that it was all about the big ne, and that sure doesn't hurt. But now I realize that it's about control, and how little you have with a non LF camera.