Thread: Graphic View or Calumet CC series?

Graphic View or Calumet CC series?

I have a Bender but I am considering buying something more rigid for critical wo rk or where rigidity is needed (ie wind). I am a student and do not have much $$ to spend, so I was looking at either a Graphic View with graflock back or a Cal umet CC series camera. What are the merits and pitfalls of each, and which one w ould you choose if given a choice between the two? Also, what is a fair price fo r each?

I use one of the Calumet CC things. Mine has a spring back (no graflock) and about 18" of usable extension. No rise or fall on the back, and no detents for swings. The front standard would not support a heavy lens (355 G Claron, #3 Copal) without fixing the lensboard in place using a big auxiliary aluminum plate. The camera has proven to permit fogging of the old Kodak IR film (no longer available, so maybe not an issue anymore as the new IR film is less sensitive). I think the monorail is a bit thin and flimsy-looking, but mine is still unbent after two years. And I'm not really convinced about its rigidity.

Good things about it include decent parts availability from Calumet, generous movements, and its ability to take abuse. I wouldn't buy another one, but I'm not going to replace it immediately. I also see them in camera stores for exorbidant prices ($300-400 sans lens?!) and think that they're probably worth about half that (I ended up paying $550 for mine, a 150 Sironar MC, and some odds and ends).

The Graphic Views are reviewed elsewhere on this site: my experience with them is limited to thinking their max extension was not enough.