Thread: film suggestion

film suggestion

After searching I was unable to get a straight answer. I am new to shooting 8X10 and am heading to the Grand Canyon. I am used to shooting velvia but I am not even sure which films are still around in 8X10. What about Kodak E100VS? How do people feel about Provia, Astia, or Velvia 100F for landscapes? Any suggestions are appreciated.

Dan

Re: film suggestion

3d Visual Effects artist

I like what I see from my friend's 6x12cm Astia, so I tried to get some Astia 8x10 from Badger graphic (one of the few places i think that can get it to the US) and I was on the waiting list for quite some time before I cancelled my order. You should be able to get Provia though.
    Daniel Buck - 3d VFX artist
    3d work: DanielBuck.net
    photography: 404Photography.net - BuckshotsBlog.com

Preston Birdwell

Dan,

I shoot 4x5 and here is my 2 cents...

I shoot a lot of Astia 100F. It has a pretty neutral color pallet and scans nicely. Provia is too blue for my taste. To qualify this staIement, I must say that I shoot a lot in the mountains where the blue component is high. I have only shot 20 sheets of Velvia 100F. It was a bear to scan: I had better (much better) luck with Velveeta 100 (non-F) in 4x5.

Have fun at the 'Big Dtich'!

-P
    Preston-Columbia CA

"If you want nice fresh oats, you have to pay a fair price. If you can be satisfied with oats that have already been through the horse; that comes a little cheaper."

Thanks Ron, the link was helpful. However, I have no experience nor any clue about these films (Kodak E100; Kodak EPP; Kodak EPP; Kodak EPY) Is one cooler, less saturated, etc. With the red rocks of the grand canyon I would like a film to be warm in nature. How about this: for those shooting 8X10 landscapes in the southwest, which films are you using and why? Remember I am new and very greatful for any advice anyone cares to share.

thanks,

dan

hi dan,