Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to do with my images?

What to do with my images?

I bought my first "real camera", a Canon Rebel 2000 at the end of 1999 and have taken every picture of everything I can ever since. Photography has become my passion, although I'm new to large format. The problem I'm having is that I have literally tens of thousands of photo's, some of which are very good. Some of these are 35mm, b&w as well as color, and some are 10 MP digital. I don't have a problem keeping them organized, I have a very detailed filing system both for digital and print, but I'm not sure what to do with them now. Nothing is copyrighted and I don't even know how to legally copyright them. My main question is weather to actually publish any of them. My photography is special to me, and "owning" any particular photo that I've taken gives me pride. I know that getting some things published here and there could ultimately get my foot in the door to make some cash in the future, but then I can't say that I own the photo if the company requires ownership of the copyright when they publish. Even if they only purchase a one time publishing right, then I still can't say to somebody else in the future that the photo they want to buy has never been published. In the short term, I'm happy just taking my pictures, but in the long run I want to make sure that I manage my valuable photo's to my best advantage. Any suggestions?

Re: What to do with my images?

I have had thousands of photographs published. With commercial photography some publisher sometimes want images that have not been published, but some of my architecture images have been published dozens of times. For my artwork, the more it is published the more it is worth. Sometimes art magazines want "fresh" work but that is not the same thing. Get your work out there. It gives you legitimacy, confidence and some spare change.
    Thanks,
    Kirk

at age 73:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,