Thread: Contact Printing Question

Contact Printing Question

Hi,
    I am just starting out with LF (8x10) and was wondering if anyone can advise on contact frames and your preferences for other equipment/material in this matter.
    Please direct me to other threads where this topic has been discussed, if any.

Thank you in advance,
    Jan

Re: Contact Printing Question

For contact frames, definately pick one made of hard wood. Soft wood frames "shed" little tiny splinters onto your film and paper throughout their lives.

Mike
    Politically, aerodynamically, and fashionably incorrect.

Equipment needs are minimal. You need (1) a light bulb, (2) some sort of timer, I used a metronome purchased at a music instrument store for about $15, (3) a flat surface underneath the light source on which to place the frame (or you can just use two pieces of glass with the negative and paper sandwiched in between), and (4) a piece of mat board cut a few inches larger than your negative and paper. After you have the paper and negative in the frame or in between the pieces of glass (in the dark obviously) cover the negative and paper with the mat board and turn on the light. Start the timer and simultaneously pull the board away from the paper and negative, count metronome beeps for the required exposure time, cover the paper and negative with the mat board at the end of the exposure time.

You can get more elaborate if you want, e.g. you can hook your light source up to a darkroom timer if you don't like to count metronome beeps, you can use an enlarger as the light source rather than a household bulb, you can hang the light source in a way such that the distance from the light to the frame/glass can be altered depending on the density of the negative, you can buy an expensive contact printing frame instead of using two sheets of glass, etc. etc. But you don't really need to do any of that.