Thread: Hi from Bedfordshire UK

Cool Hi from Bedfordshire UK

I have been visiting this siote on and off for the last 3 months - reading all the very useful articles about LF photography.

Well I have been dabbling in and ouit of photography for the last 15 years, however more seriously in the last 2/3 years, when I made the switch to digital Canon 5D from Film SLR.

I have always loved the LF, the flexibility and movements it provides and above all it slows you down to think about composition, now I have more patience and care about qulaity rather than quantity.

Help please - I will add this to the camera section.

I am in the market for large format - I do like like Linhof Linhof Technikardan and Ebony 45SU, I am more in favour of teh Ebony.

Please guys I would appreciate your experience and advise, also adivse on Lenses may be two for starters.

The LF for landscape only.

Regards

Re: Hi from Bedfordshire UK

Hi, always glad to see a new LF convert in the UK!

Well you certainly couldn't go far wrong with an Ebony 45SU if you can afford one. A non folder is ideal for landscape work, much less faff setting up which all helps in quickly changing light conditions. They are heavy though, so if you're walking a long way you're going to need a good backpack!

Lens wise I'd recommend something between 110-135mm to begin with, the 4x5 format seems wider somehow than 35mm and my 135mm is probably the lens I use the most. It's good to have something a bit bigger to practice movement with, it's hard to focus the wider you get. I also use a 180mm quite often and even up to a 300mm for landscape work.

Eh up from Yorkshire!

Howdy from New Mexico, and welcome to the forum.