Thread: Best scanner for crisp, high magnification..

Best scanner for crisp, high magnification..

Hi everyone. I have some old artwork that is deteriorating and needs to be scanned. The artwork has incredibly tiny writing on it. One of the requirements is to be able to magnify any portion of the scan by like 4000%, enough to see a single letter very clearly and crisply. This for study and archival purposes.

I've attempted to do this on our HP 4370 at 3600dpi. And while the scan itself seems decent (1.9GB file), it gets fuzzy once you get to high magnification.

I'm just learning about scanning. I'm hoping you guys can give me some pointers.

1. Obviously our little HP 4370 is not going to cut it (though I am going to try SilverFast to see if it makes a difference). What level of scanner do you think I need to achieve this? Is there something that will work in the $1000 - $10,000 range? Or are we talking a Creo or Cruse?

2. Unfortunately, some of the artwork is brittle, and larger than a traditional flatbed. Would a Cruse scanner be able to scan at the resolution I need? I don't understand their possible resolution when they talk about a 450MB 3x8 bit head.

3. Interactive zooming - in order to study the art and be able to easily have dynamic lectures, we want to be able to zoom the image dynamically without excessive load times. Using photoshop or other graphic programs is not feasible for a 2GB image when you're giving a lecture. One solution we found is using Zoomify (which is also part of Photoshop CS3). Seems to work very well (assuming we can get the magnified image clear enough). Does anyone know of a better solution?

Thanks for any help

Re: Best scanner for crisp, high magnification..