Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Have you checked your back? (& plane of focus)

Have you checked your back? (& plane of focus)

I've only been in LF for about five years so I'm still learning every day. Today my lesson was about the ground glass and plane (pain?) of focus.

I just received a beautiful new 4x5 ground glass from Steve Hopf (hopfsteve@gmail.com). I ordered it with no marks - no grid or crop lines, so I can see a clean, bright image without distractions. Installation should be a piece of cake, right? Just swap the new ground glass for the old.

I selected one of the four Graflok backs for my Toyo cameras (45AII & 45G) and removed the six screws which hold in place the two retaining clamp strips. To my surprise, what came out was not just the old ground glass but a sandwich of Toyo factory ground glass plus a Fresnel screen on the film side of the glass. No wonder my image was hard to focus! It was bright, but confused by Fresnel rings (a standard side effect of Fresnel lenses).

Some extended searching on the Web and a little reflection on Newtonian optics lead me to believe that the Fresnel lens has a focal length of its own, effectively modifying the plane of focus as it falls on my ground glass. General advice is that you mount the Fresnel on the side of the glass away from the lens, and that furthermore you really ought to match the Fresnel to the specific lens focal length. Toyo probably understands this and accounted for the change of focus in their construction of this ground glass-Fresnel sandwich. No matter; I don’t want a Fresnel so I can ignore all that.