Thread: Shooting in between candid and posed portraits with 4x5

Shooting in between candid and posed portraits with 4x5

Hi there,

I have been shooting with electronic strobe for about 2 years. I recently purchased a Toyo-View 45CF back in Deccember and after shooting more than my share of static ("hold really still!") photos for a while, I am itching to make some semi-candid images like I would make with my RZ67.

I read that I can shoot at f22 and above with the 4x5 where the subject can move a relative amount (therefore not employing the "hold really still!" method of shooting). I am too cheap to purchase a "bright screen" ground glass. So basically, can I focus at f5.6 then move the aperture to f22, load the ready-load, then wait for the moment that I want to shoot?

Thanks!
    Paolo

Re: Shooting in between candid and posed portraits with 4x5

May be. All depends on the variables.

How much is your subject moving in the scene?

Camera to subject distance?

Lens focal length?

To name a few.
    When I grow up, I want to be a photographer.

http://www.walterpcalahan.com/Photography/index.html

At f:22 with a 210mm lens on 4x5" and the subject at about two meters, the DOF zone is about 30 cm, so the subject can't, say, dance wildly around the set, but they can sit comfortably.

You can stop down to whatever your flash is bright enough to light...

One of the benefits of shooting with a flash is that the flash is actually making the exposure and the duration of the flash is very short. Increase the intensity of the flash so you can use a small aperture. Keep the ambient light in the room very low. This should produce some sharp images even of slightly moving subjects.

When shooting children under six years of age, place them in a chest freezer for about an hour and a half before the sitting. This slows them down and makes them malleable. Good luck. BTW, don't use your longest lens. A 150mm will give you plenty of focus fudge room.