Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Omega Timer With Aristo Cold Light?

http://www.spiritsofsilver.com tgtaylor's Avatar

Omega Timer With Aristo Cold Light?

Hi all,

I just puchased a used Beseler MXT enlarger that came with an Aristo D2 Cold light head. I have never used a cold light head before and I am wondering if my Omega ET-500 timer will handle the inductive loads that a cold light source gives. Your insight on this is greatly appreciated.

Thomas

Re: Omega Timer With Aristo Cold Light?

It's hard to get consistent results using these heads. If you get one, get one with a heater. It'll have two cords for plugging it in. (A thicker one for the heater and a thinner one for the light source.)

My suggestion would be to get a compensating timer like the Metrolux. But, I don't really know if they're still made? There are others. The Zone VI would be an option, except that it's no longer possible to get the separate sensors. (On perpetual backorder.)

These timers adjust for the high variation that cold light sources exhibit by varying the "speed" of time as the light varies in brightness.

Otherwise, one can help smooth out the variability by leaving the head on prior to printing to make sure the heater is at its peak, and waiting an interval of time between exposures, etc.

Thomas, I am uncertain of the answer re your specific timer. However, along with my Aristo V-54 Cold Light came the following warning from Aristo: "If you are using a digital or solid state timer, check the manufacturers specifications to see if your model is compatible and can handle the inductive load of a cold light head. If you are uncertain, a solid state Contactor model #1200 can be purchased from Aristo which will protect your timer and boost its power handling capabilities to 1200 watts inductive load."