Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best camera for 8x10 landscapes?

Best camera for 8x10 landscapes?

I am new to large format photo, stepping up from 35mm. I am interested in shoot ing landscape scenes, is there some cameras out there better than others for thi s type of photography. It seems the precision in some of the more expensive mod els is not so necessary for landscapes? Is this true? Any input would be great ly appreciatied. Thank you.

Bill,

Are you really lookingto step up from 35mm to 8x10? That isa couple of quantum l eaps in terms of technique (LF requires lots of patience, gear is much bulkier a nd can be heavier,) even the way you think about making pictures is very differe nt. I would suggest that rather than focus on gear right now, you work at educat ing yourself first by taking a workshop through an organization like the Santa F e Photo Workshops, View Camera Magazine, or Arizona Highways magazine. Equipment wise i would invest more heavily in a couple of really good lenses, a really good tripod and head,a polaroid back and not so much on a camera body. Th at way if working in LF agrees with you will have made the really important qual ity purchases and can upgrade to a better body later. The price difference betwe en an okay lens and a really good lens is much less than the difference between a starter body (like the Calumet Cadet) and a high end body like an Arca, a Sina r, a Canham (the DLC is my favorite landscape camera right now) a Wisner, a Hors eman, a Toyo or a Linhof (to name just a few.) Also find a good dealer in your c ountry or your part of the country.

Good luck and remember the lenses are the important thing.

I agree with Ellis, that's quite a jump in formats.