Thread: drum scan dpi - (large format)

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

drum scan dpi - (large format)

okay, i am new to this tango drum scan stuff.

i am going to be sending off 2 negatives for a scan job.
    i looked at west coast imaging (they seem reputable, correct me if i am wrong or offer your choices) and in their questions and answer's section, they say a 300mb file size is recommended for large format.

well, there is 4x5 and there is 8x10... and scanned at the same dpi, will result in a 4x file size difference.

i think it boils down to dpi as the main thing to consider based upon the largest print size you'll need...

so an example, let's say i plan to make a 40x50 print from a 4x5 somewhere down the road.... a 10x enlargement to produce the most stunning image with no digital artifacts.

what dpi should i be scanning with?

also, is 8 bit good enough for black & white scans? they have 16 bits available and they also say that 16 bit is overkill for color scans.

your thoughts welcome.

thanks.

-lc

Re: drum scan dpi - (large format)

8-bit is fine if you do not plan on doing any editing, i.e., if your negatives are perfect and just the way you like them. (Get 16 bit scans.)

can you explain why?

i can't see why it would be needed for things like cleaning up dust spots...

but i can see it where one adds contrast - lots of contrast and you end up with quantization bands - is that the main reason?

FYI, Calypso Imaging is equally reputable, and offers 16 bit for the same price as 8 bit.