Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lens for Crown Graphic

Lens for Crown Graphic

Hello, I am new to LF and looking for a little help. I have settled on the Crown Graphic as my first 4x5. However, I am still confused on getting a usable lens for it(I am ordering from KEH.com). Despite doing quite a bit of reading, I am still slightly confused about lens boards, sizes, coverage etc. Basically, without wasting too much of your time, could someone give me a brief rundown on lens boards etc. in relation to the Crown Graphic? Also could someone lead to me to the cheapest possible lens to start with?(preferably from this list http://www.keh.com/OnLineStore/Produ...BCL=&GBC=&GCC=

I appreciate everyone's help and hope this is in the right section and everything. Thanks.

Dave Karp

Re: Lens for Crown Graphic

I wrote this a while back: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses-primer

It should help you with coverage, etc. It also discusses lensboards and even shows a Crown with a lensboard and lens on it.

Normal lenses range from 135mm to 165mm or so. Your choice depends on your subject matter and how you see.

You will want to choose your predrilled lensboard after you choose your lens. The shutter size determines the hole size in the lensboard. Here is a table showing the various hole sizes for different shutters: http://www.largeformatphotography.in...ole_sizes.html. KEH describes their stuff by the hole size in mm.

You won't get too much help from KEH sales people with LF stuff unless you are lucky enough to get one who uses this stuff. Another alternative is Jim Andracki at Midwest Photo Exchange (mpex.com). He can help you make a good choice. MPEX has lots of used lenses. They also have new lensboards for Crown Graphics in stock. I have purchased from both. I prefer MPEX when I have a choice.

El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles de Porciúncula