Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thinking about returning to Photography,

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Thinking about returning to Photography,

So I have been out of photography for a very long time. Left NYC in 1985 and went sailing . Anyway I have been thinking about shooting again and I am amazed at the digital backs out there in the world , small compact , large files but , my background is film. I worked in various studios in NYC and LA doing table top mostly with occasional jaunts with guys like Bob Day , Paul Barton and Ted Horowitz working in the field of industrial stuff. So I am looking at acquiring a 4 x 5 and a few lenses . I have been researching this for awhile and have almost made my mind up on this camera ... Since i have been following this forum there seems to be a general knowledge on about everything, so if there is anyone that is familiar with this camera I would appreciate any feedback before I buy the camera . It seems to fit the bill . lightweight , lots of movement capability , breaks down well and built well,it seems... I really have enjoyed reading this forum and finally decided to ask for guidance..http://www.badgergraphic.com/store/c...t_detail&p=147

Re: Thinking about returning to Photography,

What kind of work do you plan to do, David? Principally studio or field? Will you really need all the movements? Would a folding field camera be more convenient?

I'm not personally familiar with this camera, but its specs look good, especially for studio applications.

I thought that Kerry Thalmann was using a Toho... I just checked and yes here it is: http://www.thalmann.com/largeformat/toho.htm

Quote Originally Posted by Dick Hilker View Post
    What kind of work do you plan to do, David? Principally studio or field? Will you really need all the movements? Would a folding field camera be more convenient?