Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which staining developer?

Which staining developer?

Hi,

I am thinking of changing to a staining developer. I mainly use HP5+, D76, Xtol, a combi plan tank, shoot 4x5 and scan for output (digital negs or as prints).

My main reasons are for a cheaper developer that can sit on my shelf for longer, and can give me a good negative that I may use for contact printing with an alternative process.

Recommendations?

Thanks Len

Len Metcalf

Leonard Murray Metcalf BA Dip Ed MEd

Len's gallery lenmetcalf.com

Lens School

Lens Journal

Re: Which staining developer?

Here we go...

If you've been following the various developer threads, there are a couple of widely used staining developers, and then probably many more not-so-widely-used. I've been using Gordon Hutching's PMK for something like 20 years, tray developing. Steve Simmons, the publisher of ViewCamera usually recommends it as well. The newer staining formula, developed initially for rotary processing, is the Pyrocat family, one formulation is for rotary processing, and the other for tray/intermittant agitation (since I don't use it, I get Pyrocat HD and MC confused). All are available pre-mixed from Photographer's Formulary (there may well be others, I only have experience with PF). Again, from personal experience, PMK seems to have an indefinite shelf life in component form (there are two stock mixtures which you mix just before using), and is very dilute, hence very economical (the two traits you mention). I believe the Pyrocat formulae work the same way, and have similar characteristics. The biggest difference between PMK and Pyrocat is the stain color; I'll leave it to a Pyrocat user to explain the difference the stain color makes for printing. In the PMK case, the greenish stain is essentially self-masking for highlights if you use VC papers.