Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Handheld 4x5- Razzle and Speed Graphic

Handheld 4x5- Razzle and Speed Graphic

At the request of one of our distinguished members I am starting a new thread on the subject of handheld 4x5.

After many years of shooting 35mm and medium format as a journalist, I became enamored with the idea of shooting on even larger film. One of the MAJOR REASONS I decided (and continue) to shoot film (any film) is that I am convinced that digital capture (even though I shoot a lot of it) is still dubious as far as archiving is concerned-- I contend that in the near future many of us will experience a "Digital Disaster" ( I have already lost 2 hard drives filled with files!). I have redundant drives and countless files which can all be wiped out by the passage of time--
    1. Studies have shown that CD's, DVD's, and hard drives are reliable for no more than 10 years, so we must continue to migrate our files to new media every 7 years or so :-0 and...
    2. If the computer world continues as it has in it's short history, then we can look forward to a new algorithm I like to call Xpeg. At this point we will all be forced to translate years of jpegs, tiffs, nefs etc into the newer format or risk having them left behind in software progress ( how many of you still have floppy disks with info that can only be obtained through multi-generations of hardware/software combinations dating back to when they were created). and
    3. The physical properties that film (and large format) deliver are still way tastier to look at than digital.
    Sorry, I just had to get that off my chest--now I'll tell you what I really think;-)

In the past 4 years I have used a Crown Graphic, Speed Graphic and Razzles in an attempt to shoot handheld 4x5 with comfort and success.

Right up front I will say that the Razzles are the clear winner, but the Speed Graphic has it's merits!