Thread: Eversmart: Pro vs Pro ll

Eversmart: Pro vs Pro ll

Friends, I am in the market for a top end flatbed. The Eversmarts are on my short list. There is a considerable difference in price between the Pro and Pro II models. While I have researched the machines, it is not easy to find a source that differentiates between them. If I am not mistaken, the operating software appears to be the primary (or only difference), and allows for 16 bit vs 12 bit saves. I would appreciate any insight particularly from users. Is the appx $2k premium "worth it"? I am a serious amateur and would use the machine for individual 6x6cm and 4x5 scans to be printed, mostly in the 24" x30" range (Epson 7800). I am not likely to do batch scanning or any other fancy pre-press processing. With my Nikon 9000, I scan without any adjustments and process in CS2. Perhpas that would change with the Eversmart. Your thoughts on the current market prices and experiences with current tech support (Kodak?) would be appreciated as well. I do not want to get into a machine that is no longer supported. Much obliged. David

Re: Eversmart: Pro vs Pro ll

Well, I can't speak for others, but I do some adjustment when I scan with my Nikon 9000, or any of my other scanners. The adjustments I do are to make sure I get the whole dynamic range of the image, and minor color correction (if the image is in color), as this saves a bit of time in photoshop. Saying you do no adjustments seems to me to be incorrect, as you have to do "some" adjustment to get the whole dynamic range.