Thread: Palladium Printing

Palladium Printing

I am new to palladium printing and have read the book by Dick Arentz as well as a few other resources. The one thing I am having trouble with is exposure. Every thing I have read says I should see a latent image like a printing out paper but I have yet to see anything remotely like this. My exposures have been completel y black to lightly muddy. I know... a test strip, but I am wondering if the late nt image problem is as significant as I am making it out to be. I guess I am ask ing for some guidance from someone here with practical experience in this type o f printing. Thanks in advance!

Palladium Printing

Check the Alternative Process forum for a more informed response at http://www.photogs.com/bwworld/forum-altproc.html

Palladium Printing

David,

If your print is completely black it is completely exposed, that is, grossly overexposed. If it is light-muddy, it may be that the negative is much too low in contrast for palladium. Try drastically cutting your printing exposure. A "develop out" palladium print should show fairly dark borders and some density in the deepest shadows before development, but nothing near a full print-out exposure. If you use POP palladium chemicals (ziatype or Ware/Malde) you will get a complete print out image without separate development.---Carl

Palladium Printing