Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Backpacking & Weight - Stupid Question

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Backpacking & Weight - Stupid Question

Forum,

I have been working like heck to shave pounds off of my loaded pack. Smaller lenses, quickloads, lighter tripod - you name it. Through all of that effort, I am lucky if I reduced the total weight by six pounds. While shaving off those pounds, I know I am giving up a lot - like the better lenses!

Here is the stupid question. If a guy were to shave off six to ten pounds of body weight, would the end result be about the same as dropping six to ten pounds from the weight of the backpack. It is obvious that the total weight on the feet would be the same as would the total weight in motion.

I do have at least fifteen pounds to give up and I have LOTS of experience bearing the weight of that load! So, in summary, if I were to take ten pounds off of my mid section and add those ten pounds to my pack, could I go farther and do more?

J V McLure

Re: Backpacking & Weight - Stupid Question

Depends. Dropping weight might leave you weaker. You could consider getting stronger instead of worrying about scale weight.

It is not quite an even exchange - part of the problem is localized stress on the shoulders. Body weight is very evenly spread and thus easier to carry. But yes, getting rid of excess pounds will let you carry a little more, and other metabolic benfits from losing the weight will also help. Regular fitness training (which you may be doing) will also help a lot. Of course the best fitness training is to hike with your camera every day.:-)

I do not see why you are giving up better lenses. The smaller lenses are often the best, at least in terms of sharpness and contrast.

The short answer is pretty much.