Thread: 4x5 transparency scans

4x5 transparency scans

O.K., I have read the digital threads. Still confused. Here is my question. M y client, (the godsend) now wants all the 4x5 chromes we have shot scanned and t hen put onto a CD. He wants to be able to do design and layout. We are already working on the black and white for the archives, and working on the cibachromes for his clients. Now he wants this done.(great for us)!!! He wants to concentra te on the writing. He is not inclined to trust people he has not worked with. T hat is just fine by me. So my partner and I are thinking, we are pretty smart fo lks,I have some (albeit minor) experience with scanning prints and doing re-touc h in photo shop. My computer has all the memory and speed for most scanners. S o that is not the question. We start looking at scanners and the like and hol y moly its an entirely different world. So help!! Is it really necessary to pur chase a film scanner to do these 4x5 tranies or can we use the new UMAX powerloo k 111 for this. If we get the less expensive scanner will our client still be h appy with the output? We really want to keep our client happy. Not only is this a fun project, but he is a really nice guy. Remember these scans will only be u sed by him for layout and design. I'll scan them, do any manipulations in photo shop, burn the image to a CD and ship the CD to him to open and add his text to, and he can do his thing to the CD. When he is ready to publish the 4x5's will be drum scanned by the publisher. Any words of wisdom will be greatly appreciate d. Thanks in advance

4x5 transparency scans