Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Thoughts on 4x5 lenses (confessions of one who despises ‘normal lenses’).

Thoughts on 4x5 lenses (confessions of one who despises ‘normal lenses’).

I have been using roll film for 30 years and am quite accustom to the type of view a certain lens will give in 35mm and 6x6cm formats. I frequently use lenses of shorter focal lengths. I have tried hard to use the 50mm planar with my 35mm camera, it is one of the sharpest lenses for that system, but any group of good photographs in my portfolio would have probably zero photographs taken with that lens.

Enter 4x5 format. When searching for a cheap camera/lens combo just to ‘try it out,’ I was always put off by offerings with 150 or 180mm lenses. I figured, ‘I don’t like the 50mm lens in 35mm cameras, I won’t like these lenses in 4x5.’ Well, I never wound up getting one of those cheap combos and wound up spending more on a Horseman and some lenses.

Now that I am using 4x5 and have a bunch of lenses, I have some comments on these lenses in the 135 to 180 range. First, some goals I have in 4x5 are the rendition of precise detail, to achieve an ‘image clarity’ not available in smaller formats. It seems once an object falls outside of the focal plane, the effect is lessened. So, as I was shooting with 90 and 105 and 120 mm lenses, I was finding myself wanting to ‘zoom in’ a little more to eliminate foreground objects that won’t be in the sharp focal plane. Next thing you know, I am using the 150 mm lens and liking the results! The other day I even forced myself to try and take some pictures with the 35mm camera using 50 and 60mm lenses to see if is me or what.