Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Adventures with the new HP G4050 - A newbie's review

Adventures with the new HP G4050 - A newbie's review

A little background on me first:

I'm not experienced with scanners, the only scanners I've ever owned were the very cheap ones (such as the $50 canon lide25). I've been "scanning" my 4x5's by photographing them on a light table using my dslr and although I can get some pretty decent results that way, I wanted something that would give me better quality.

My goal is to have a scanner that will allow me to have web-res images as well as prints as large as 11x14". Anything larger than that and I'll send it out to my pro-lab to be drum scanned.

Now to the review:
    Quick drive to my local staples, they had it in store. Paid $215 including tax, they have a 14 day return policy without restocking fee, so it was plenty of time to install it, do a few tests and return for refund.

I tried to install it on my Vista machine. Big no no. The HP website gives you some provisional drivers that as they state will provide basic functionality. Basic functionality doesn't include scanning transparencies. I called the HP's tech support and for my surprise, in less than 3 minutes I was speaking with a (indian) tech support guy. He confirmed the info, saying that they are working on a full functionality driver for Vista and will release it very soon, but he didn't tell me when. I understand that. I'm a software engineer and I should be working on the Vista compatibility issues of our software right now instead of writing this review...

So, Vista right now is a big no no.

Repeated the whole process on my XP machine. Normal process, in less than 10 minutes it was done.

The scanner is supplied with a few adapters: for 35mm strips (5 strips if I'm not mistaken), 35mm slides, medium format film (120?) and one specific for 4x5 (one sheet). It's plastic, seems to work fine.