Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm new here looking for a 4x5 folding field camera

I'm new here looking for a 4x5 folding field camera

I'm new here looking for a 4x5 folding field camera...

I've read through quite a bit of the forum here.
    I have been doing photography for 35 years. I majored in phtography in college, worked as a photo assistant but before I got into photography on my own I went in a different career path but have always been doing photography as my passion ever since and a little bit of photo business as well.

I haven't shot film much in 5 years and haven't shot large format since the mid eighties. I've shot up to 8x10 but lately I've been shooting digital with 5D and M8.

I want to get back to shooting some LF film and have been looking at wooden field cameras. I imagine myself doing some portraits and garden photos with large format. I envision myself sticking to quickload and trying to make this easy since it will require a whole new discipline from shooting digital.

I originally thought I'd get an old deardoff but after doing some research the Ebony rw45 looks better and better. I am also figuring I'd get two lenses at least to start. I like to shoot either wide or close-up.

My questions to you all is, is the ebony rw45 a good choice. If not what else? Which lenses? I was thinking of a 90 for the wide (I like 28-35 in 35mm) but don't know what to go for on the long side. How can I get close without having really long bellows?

Thank you for your time.

Re: I'm new here looking for a 4x5 folding field camera

Get the Ebony.

The aspect ratio of 35mm and 4x5 aren't the same, so a lens length on 35mm doesn't translate up to 4x5 smoothly. A 90 is a good start for wide.

Think of getting a Nikkor micro as your second or third lens. Great for the garden. For portraits, I'd suggest getting a 210mm. Those three lenses should get you rolling.

Don't skimp on a cheap tripod. 4x5 needs a solid platform underneath.