Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Mac now or wait

Mac now or wait

Have been shooting 4x5 for over 20 years. Shoot color and have had prints made by WCI and have been very pleased. Have sold a few. Goal has always been to make my own prints though with a Mac, Photoshop, and Epson or Canon printer, from drum scans done by WCI or someone else. The info on this website has been very helpful. I am very new to this digital stuff (technologically challenged old fart per my wife) so want to jump into all this in a sane, logical fashion. Plan to start with a Mac Pro (likely a 2.6 duo with 4G ram) and get PS CS3 and start a long learning curve.
    Apple was to release the new OS (leopard) in June but now looks like October. Some previous threads on this site have suggested that the leopard OS will be more compatible with PS CS3. I am very concerned about messing up an expensive computer. What advice would you folks provide:
    1. Get the Mac now and start learning PS, etc and then buy the leopard upgrade in the fall.
    2. Wait until October to jump in so as to avoid having to do all the gyrations involved with upgrading.
    Any advice, suggestions will be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Vance Gese

Re: Mac now or wait

Buy it now. Upgrading the operating system on a Mac is uite easy. No gyrations just follow the simple instructions. Plus you would then have the option of a experienced OS like 10.4.9 and could wait for 10.5.1 rather then starting immediately with 10.5 (Leopard) if you want to see what other users experiences are with it first.