Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm new to LF - opinions on tripods wanted

I'm new to LF - opinions on tripods wanted

I just purchased my first LF camera (Linhof Color Kardan 45S - still waiting for it to arrive) and I am looking at several tripods on e-bay and would like opinions.

The first is a SUNRAY "large format" tripod w/9x6 1/2" platform head. I don't have any details on it, but it looks very heavy.

Next is a Manfrotto 3021BN w/Manfrotto 3030 head. The Manfrotto is a little shorter than I might like (I'm 6'2") and I am not sure how sturdy it will be for the Linhof (8+ pounds).

The last one is a Giottos MT8180 w/a MH-3000 head and Manfrotto 394 base plate. It looks like it would be a good choice.

any opinions or thoughts?

Re: I'm new to LF - opinions on tripods wanted

Look on ebay for used TILTALL tripods (get the ones made by Leitz/Leica). Less than $100, weigh only 6# complete with built-in pan/tilt head, built like a Russian tank, will last a lifetime. The head matches perfectly with the base of the 45S Linhof.
    Wilhelm (Sarasota)

Look for a matching Linhof Professional for around $150. A lot of tripod for the money and it will keep the proper uber atitude when the going gets tough.

Don't cheap out!

Quote Originally Posted by gaylandd View Post

The last one is a Giottos MT8180 w/a MH-3000 head and Manfrotto 394 base plate. It looks like it would be a good choice.

any opinions or thoughts?
    Is that the CF model? IIRC it's less then 1lb lighter then the heavy metal model. Never made any sense to me.