Thread: Uneven Development problem with semi-stand

Uneven Development problem with semi-stand

I am new to LF and have been using BTZS tubes for about a year for developing my 4x5 TMax 100 negatives. I use 60 ml 1:1 diluted Xtol as this is what the BTZS cap can only hold. I agitate the tubes with a 2 cycle pinching technique. For a full 6 tube session, I pinch tubes 1+2, 3+4, 5+6, then side of water container + 1, 2+3, 4+5, 6 + side of container. This way each tube is rotated in opposite directions in a 2 cycle pinch. With this I found my EI is ASA 80 with density above Film Base + Fog of 0.11. My N developing time is 8 ˝ minutes at 75F.

Equipment involved are Toho 4x5 camera, Pentax digital spotmeter and Nikon 210W lens, all purchased new. There should be no light leaks or other failures.

Recently I got interested in stand development, adjacency effects and people’s glowing reports on 1:3 diluted Xtol. I also hoped to get some increase in film speed with this technique. The “open tubes in a can” method described by Sandy King previously would need to use a huge amount of Xtol. So I made my own tubes from grey 1.7 inch PVC piping. A 5.5 inch tube section (with cap at one end) can hold 220 ml. Just by pushing two of these tube sections together with a central connector, the tube complex is water tight. So it basically functions like a BTZS tube, except that the holding capacity is now 220 ml instead of only 60 ml in the original BTZS system. With 220 ml of fluid, the entire negative can be submerged and stand development is possible. 55 ml of Xtol diluted 1: 3 makes 220 ml, which should be adequate for 20 sq in. of film. I also found a plastic container which holds 6 of these tubes so I can agitate 6 tubes all at once by inversion.