Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Adobe CS3 released

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,721

    Adobe CS3 released

    Adobe has released the CS3 suite today.

    http://www.adobe.com/

    There will be two versions of Photoshop and six packages.

    Pricing is as usual: expensive.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    233

    Re: Adobe CS3 released

    Expensive bloatware aimed at architects this time.

    I'm wondering if Adobe has put currency checkers into the 3d system they have bodged in? CS2 was slow enough but the CS3 beta was appaluling on the intel apple, not tried XP/Vista. I imagine XP fine and Vista painful.

    Steven

  3. #3
    tim atherton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Posts
    3,693

    Re: Adobe CS3 released

    I know - that fraking currency checking system just cripples CS2.

    Wonder how Chris J manages with those massive composites of dollar bills he's been making...!
    You'd be amazed how small the demand is for pictures of trees... - Fred Astaire to Audrey Hepburn

    www.photo-muse.blogspot.com blog

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    904

    Re: Adobe CS3 released

    Adobe Quote:

    "Process raw images with increased speed and superior conversion quality using the Adobe Photoshop Camera Raw plug-in..."

    I'm interpreting this as meaning that the same plug-in works better in CS3 than it does in CS2 - any thoughts?

  5. #5
    Founder QT Luong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1997
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    2,197

    Re: Adobe CS3 released

    I always thought of ACR as an application rather than a plug-in. The ACR that comes with CS3 has a different interface than the one that comes with CS2, also with more refined controls (although found in Lightroom).

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,721

    Re: Adobe CS3 released

    Quote Originally Posted by Eric James View Post
    Adobe Quote:

    "Process raw images with increased speed and superior conversion quality using the Adobe Photoshop Camera Raw plug-in..."

    I'm interpreting this as meaning that the same plug-in works better in CS3 than it does in CS2 - any thoughts?
    After running CS3 beta on MacIntel for a couple of months, it looks as if it is what marketers would call "new and improved" version of it. But whatever one decides to call it, there is a ton more (useful) features than in previous versions.

    And I wouldn't call it slow either, the thing positively flies compared to CS2 under Rosetta. All this still in beta, as I will wait until Mac OS X 10.5 comes out so I can upgrade both at the same time, but I doubt they've made it slower and less feature-rich in the final version.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,721

    Re: Adobe CS3 released

    Quote Originally Posted by QT Luong View Post
    I always thought of ACR as an application rather than a plug-in. The ACR that comes with CS3 has a different interface than the one that comes with CS2, also with more refined controls (although found in Lightroom).
    It does feel that way, but since it can't run without Photoshop, I would still consider it a plug-in.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts USA
    Posts
    6,810

    Re: Adobe CS3 released

    I'll wait for my Beta version to expire first. Maybe I'll get lucky.

    I hope they fixed Bridge. I find that it has a heck of a time with TIFF files, and is slow with large files. My Mac "Finder" does a better job generating thumbnails than Bridge. They probably call out to the OS for that anyway, so why not just use the OS for browsing anyhow.

    If I had zillions of small files, perhaps I would appreciate it. Instead, I have a small number of huge files. I'll bet they never spent much time optimizing for that.

  9. #9

    Re: Adobe CS3 released

    I pretty much hate Bridge. I really can't understand why anyone would want it to do what it does and so slowly. Why not the finder? (I think the answer is to rope us into their way of working to keep us dependent while convincing us its a "feature")

    I use Photo Mechanic (which screams) for digicam files and/or where there's lots to keep track of but for other files like big film scans its so easy to simply look at the icon of the file or the file name or the folder name.

    Q.T. probably needs more sophistication than that, but then he probably needs more than what Bridge does as well.

  10. #10
    Founder QT Luong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1997
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    2,197

    Re: Adobe CS3 released

    I actually find Bridge adequate and Lightroom only a slight improvement. It crawls only while generating the previews, which Photo Mechanic also does. Can you use the finder (or any other software) to view at nearly full screen size, flag/rate images, batch rename, and open in Photoshop with an action lauched ?

Similar Threads

  1. Adobe Lightroom
    By roteague in forum Business
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-Mar-2007, 16:12
  2. Problems with CS3?
    By Ed Richards in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23-Dec-2006, 11:08
  3. FYI: Adobe Releases Beta Version of Photoshop CS3
    By roteague in forum Resources
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 17-Dec-2006, 14:58
  4. Photoshop CS3 Beta available
    By Ron Marshall in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-Dec-2006, 18:57
  5. Adobe Photoshop--Observations, Questions & Stuff
    By Raymond Bleesz in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 17-Apr-2002, 18:11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •