Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: working space for BW scans

working space for BW scans

Hi,
    I have started scanning some of my BW negs (as greyscale, 16bit). There is no color space assigned, so when I open them in PS, I'm asked which working space I would like to assign - dot grain, or gamma 1.8 / 2.2. What would be a suitable solution?

Thanks for your replies.

Sidney

Re: working space for BW scans

Macintosh - 1.8

Windows / Intel - 2.2

Me, I scan B&W as a color neg and use Adobe RGB 1998.
    When I grow up, I want to be a photographer.

http://www.walterpcalahan.com/Photography/index.html

Thanks!

I have scanned about 180 negs the past few days...I have to stick to greyscale for the sake of HDD space...

Sidney

Sidney,

That's a lot of scanning. For what it's worth I'm just a beginner but I have found that scanning as a negative in RGB gives me sharper scans and I will have the same file size as you.

I scan as a color negative and in Photoshop I use the Channel Palette to split the channels into red, green and blue. The green is always the sharpest for me with my Epson 4990 flatbed so I throw out the red and blue channels and keep the green channel. It is now a grayscale file made from the sharpest channel and will be the same file size as your grayscale scan. Others have found the green channel is usually the sharpest at least with the scanner I'm using. The scans definitely take longer and the process is a little bit more involved but you can get a little more information out of your negatives that way. Is it worth it? Only you can answer that. I do it but I wouldn't go back and redo the number of scans you did.

Hope that helps,

Scott
    Last edited by Scott Kathe; 13-Mar-2007 at 19:23. Reason: spelling errer

It is a tiny bit more work to extract the sharpest channel, but the scan is noticably sharper and, as Scott has said, the same file size.

Thanks to all for your help!