Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: need help and advise on Large format cameras

Question need help and advise on Large format cameras

Hi,

I am an amateur photographer who has been shooting in 35mm camera for the last 6 years. I want to shift to large format camera. Being a newbie to large format, I am eager to know and find out what is the best camera to start off.

Also I am based out of Bangalore, India. Are there any places in India where i can get these cameras ?

Cost being a big priority which is the best way to go about in large format cameras ? Buy or build ?

How good or reliable would a large format camera be if it were built ?

What is a good starting lens (balance between quality and value)

Are large format negatives and slides available in India ?

Do labs in India process the large format films ?

Too many questions and the net has very few answers. Appears asif no Indian manufacturer exists for large format cameras.

Would really appreciate if someone can help me with the specifics.

warm regards,

Vasudevan

Re: need help and advise on Large format cameras

Look at the Shen Hao line. It would be tough to beat them for the price.
    Greg Lockrey

Wealth is a state of mind.
    Money is just a tool.
    Happiness is pedaling +25mph on a smooth road.

Jumping from 35mm to large format will be a bit shocking. Have you tried medium format?

It's the in-between. Fair-sized negs, cheap cameras, (holga to hasselblad) and they often work like a 35mm SLR or Rangefinder.

Sorry, my own routes with LF photography are definitely not for a beginner, and I've caused a bit of trouble for myself 'cheaping out' along the way

blanco_y_negro

Wasn't there are a camera called Raja? I seem to remember something like that from the 1980s and 1990s.

With respect to your other questions I strongly recommend that in addition to the information on this site you review the following:

Leslie Strobel, View Camera Technique
    Jack Dykinga, Large Format Nature Photography